Automythology


by [sarah] Cavar

charting downpours by nat raum

I. 

The tubes made pigeons of us. Nothing like a great hole being out of subholes. In the land of the living are thought the notion of holes sacred and discreet. On the inside, holes merely small tunnels of a Tunnel. No limit to what may pass / find a way out. 

Can you help me pass into a new mythology?

II. 

Let’s say I’m a monster. Say poetry made me this way. Let’s say words are monsters trying to become sentences. Let’s say it’s pathological, I try to see my spine too much. Let’s say I’m wondering if there’s something waiting under there. Waiting I mean waiting to bust out. Let’s say I am slumping for some good reason, that I have cut off my head and fallen in love with them and they have fallen back for me. Let’s say it’s enough. Let’s say my contortions really check for wings.


[sarah] Cavar is a PhD candidate and transMad writer-about-town. Their debut novel, Failure to Comply, is forthcoming with featherproof books (2024). Cavar is editor-in-chief of manywor(l)ds.place, and has had work published in The Offing, Split Lip Magazine, Electric Lit, and elsewhere. More at www.cavar.club, @cavar on BlueSky, and @cavarsarah on twitter.

nat raum (b. 1996) is a disabled artist, writer, and genderless disaster from Baltimore, MD. They’re the editor-in-chief of fifth wheel press, as well as the author of you stupid slut, the abyss is staring back, random access memory, and several chapbooks. Find them online: natraum.com/links.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started